OurYearOut

By OurYearOut

I love this photo.

Traveling with the UN. I hadn't quite prepared myself for just how different this was going to be.

When we're happily axel deep in mud, miles from anywhere, I find we have no thuruya/ satellite phone, no radio, no spade, no tow rope, and that the four wheel drive doesn't function; it's also clear that the driver rarely leaves Goma and can't deal with the mud. The day before we got stuck twice, with threats of not getting out and spending the night there. Quite glad not to have, given current armed group activity and daily hold ups on the main roads. I was spitting. I was also regarded as a complete killjoy for interrupting staff shopping trips to insist we get home before dusk: shopping "on the field" is a perk of the UN worker's life and this is one of the best areas for potatoes, cheese, milk, onions etc. Very odd being a consultant and not being able to insist on things. I'm not sure I like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.