OurYearOut

By OurYearOut

Wednesday

This is from yesterday - the scrum at the border. And a complete contrast to my luxurious day.

Today everyone organises onwards travel. I flit between functioning bright offices, a posh hotel, and a gorgeous lunch at the Bourbon Coffee Shop with Kelly who I lived with when I first came to Rwanda in 2003, haven't seen since 2005 and who randomly arrived in Kigali yesterday. Lovely - but surreal. Quite hard to get back to the larger picture conversations. The place is crawling with evacuated Goma expats.

Fitting to end with Kelly. It's 6 years to the day since I arrived in Congo for the first time. All I want to do is sleep on crisp white sheets with a lockable door. And know that Ul's ok. (Most of these wishes are granted, but the following morning I get the doors of the shower stuck and spend 20 minutes shouting/ trying my luck at climbing out up the shower pipes, until I'm rescued, naked and bristling: sense of humour failure. . .).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.