Lost In A Book

By lostinabook

FOOOOOOOOD!!

My little fridge makes me almost cry with joy - I have food! 

Before 9:15 this morning all I had in there was a packet of feta, some random condiments, and the mini bottle of champagne the car dealer gave me when I bought my new car.

And my cupboards were Old Mother Hubbard-ish.

And then came my Waitrose delivery. 

The only things I didn't get today was the yeast (can't find bread flour, so no worries) and caster sugar, which I can work around with the granulated I still have a bit of. As it's my birthday on Saturday I've bought nice things as diet has been incredibly bland recently. So, hurrah!

I was a bit stressed beforehand that there would be a lot of substitutions or cancellations (my annoying health means I only order what I know I can eat so no point ticking the substitution box) after the nightmare I had with my Asda order the other week. When I found an available delivery spot it was for 3 weeks time - fair enough. But seriously, when I came to add a few things later on, the website contradicted what my basket said was no longer available, so found alternatives to buy instead, but when confirmation of order came on day of delivery they were unavailable too. And things I know I put in my basket (eggs, sugar, walnuts(!) etc) were in neither the confirmed or unavailable list. So the shop that would have been about £130 *gulp* was now £70. And to add insult to injury, I thought I'd treat myself to some lovely ice cream, which arrived melted and soup-like. 

Sorry. Rant over. Needed to get that off my chest.

Today's delivery was a blessed relief. And the delivery man ... stopped and asked me if I was coping ok (he knew I was shielding) and to make sure I looked after myself. A little thing, but such a kind thing to do. So, if by some chance you are the Waitrose delivery man who was on Cowbridge Road East in Cardiff this morning - THANK YOU!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.