Imagine the view....

By btc

Wrens's London: St Michael Paternoster royal....

...For those interested the church's name comes from (obviously St Michael) but also its location on Paternoster Lane, (now College Hill), which was named after the sellers of paternosters - or rosaries - based there. Royal, refers to another nearby street, now vanished, called Le Reole, a town in Bordeaux, the street was named due to the presence of numerous wine merchants.

A local resident in the early 15th century was Sir Richard (Dick) Whittington, four times Lord Mayor of London who was buried in St Michael's in 1423 on the south side of the altar.

A brief blip today, there are not many things more important than blipping but transfer deadline day it certainly one of them, so that meant an early morning shoot because nothing is allowed to distract me from Sky Sports news on the last day of January (ever) apart from the odd loo break and someone bringing me food and coffee.

Hope you like the shot, not sure what it is about people planting trees in front of the churches I want to blip, but I think that this one works, no trees in the last 3 Wren blips I have planned.

Again thanks for the positive responses to the St Michaels Cornhill door, it is an impressive structure, I fancy one for the front of my house.

Sorry, really got to go I think that we might have a new striker on the way (Chris Samba already a great signing).

Looks better LARGE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.