All about Lallybroch

By Lallybroch

Beith

As it's Mothers Day today, my sister, my husband and I went over to my parents house in Beith for the afternoon.

Beith is the town I grew up in, and I can remember in Primary School, we had to do a project about the local area. I distinctly remember having to draw a picture of the local coat of arms (or is it "crest"? I'm not sure of the correct terminology) and being taught about what the different images in it represented. The coat-of-arms is featured near the top of the local town-house so I drove up there today to take a picture of it. It was only when I looked at it, I realised I can't actually remember what all the images are! I know the top left is Saint Inan and the bottom right is a birch tree (the name Beith evolved from the gaelic word for Birch). However despite spending ages on line this evening, I'm struggling to find out much information about the other two. I think they're Richard De Morville and Avicia De Lancaster and I'm surprised it hasn't been easier to confirm this. It's annoying me so much now I can see myself having to do further research on the subject! Getting far too late this evening though so will need to wait for another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.