Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Seiko SSB031

Last time I posted a watch I was irritated with myself for not having gone to sufficient trouble. This time I shot an 11 image photo stack (with tripod) to ensure maximum sharpness across the dial and ... well ... I am STILL irritated. Having wiped the subject thoroughly I can now see all the little places and specs of tiny dust I missed including finger marks on the ceramic bezel. Grumble. The next thing I see is that I hadn't adjusted the date since before the end of last month, such that it says 25 instead of 26.

Believe me. I really did shoot this today. If it was a proper job, I'd have detailed the finger prints and dust with a magnifying glass, wearing cotton gloves, set up more diffusion for the light source, adjusted the date properly and started again. It is amazing how long fair dinkum product shoots can take to complete. Whatever. It's all just a hobby now.

Aaaanyway, this is one of my best watches. It is a mechaquartz chronograph. This means that it offers chronometer level 10-15 secs a month quartz accuracy with a smooth four beats per second (as opposed to a second by second) stopwatch mechanism integrated into the movement. Even though I may not be timing my sports car around the Mt Panorama circuit, I like to think it looks good in combination with a leather jacket, white T-shirt and scarf, dark glasses (of course) and string back, kid leather driving gloves. Naturally the hair should look just a bit messy, given that I have just (ahem) popped out of my open Lamborghini to admire the scenery.  Can I help it if I have such a drop dead cool image?

Me? Delusional? Nah.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.