Growth

In just eleven days, I have planted-up 12 hanging baskets and 22 or containers. This hanging basket is the one I photographed on day 1.

Today's first listen was an album by Faithless - Outrospective (2001) - on which my favourite track is Tarantula.

I started reading about the Early British Modernists today.  Inevitably, they are categorised into three separate "schools" - only one of which (the Vorticists) have their own "ism." The other two are the Bloomsbury Group (of which more anon) and the Camden Town Group.

The latter were a group of post-impressionists who met in the home of painter Walter Sickert in, yes you've guessed it, the Camden Town area of London.  Sickert's works are quite distinctive, socially realistic, one of which - Ennui (1913) is, so far, the only painting of actual boredom I have come across with a couple facing away from each other in a small room, like the stuffed birds in the bell jar on their chest of drawers.

Another of the group was Harold Gilman, who painted working-class scenes, as favoured by Sickert in a striking impressionist style, akin to Pissaro.  I was delighted to read about his work Leeds Market (1913) - a vivid depiction of a place I know quite well and have photographed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.