1bluebell

By 1bluebell

Vancouver 2010

my blips are many and varied. I have to confess to seeing theses on Fb Canada exploring . So, I got mine out and took a photograph.

We were in Calgary January 2010 when The Flame arrived at the canadian Olympic park in Calgary. I have to say it was an unexpected emotional experience. if you had told me I would be sitting outside in temperatures of -4 eating a typical canadian breakfast I would not have believed you. And do the canadians know how to party.
We watched the flame being taken on the ski lift to be bob-sleighed down then up again to be skied down then up again to be brought down by a snow boarder. Believe me I have great admiration for that snow boarder and the one who took the flame into the olympic stadium in Vancouver a few weeks later. having tried it myself the year before,I gave up because I just could not stand up.

people in the UK laughed at us when we said were going boarding 'at our age', but in Banff we were welcomed and not laughed st. In fact the ldy in front of us was going skiing for the first time and she ws in her 70's.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.