thesnoringman

By thesnoringman

Painting of my 21st birthday adventure.

Myself and John decided to do the Main Ridge traverse starting at the Pinnacle Ridge of Sgurr nan Gillean. From the top of the Bhasteir Tooth, we jammed a pebble in a crack and used it as an anchor for an abseil rope. I won the coin toss and got to abseil first to test the belay. Around 100’ down my new jumper got jammed in the carabiner abseil system. This jumper had been knitted by my mother for my birthday and this was it’s first day on. I had to cut the jumper free to save me from swinging forever in mid air. I reached the bottom and had to jump a few feet to reach solid ground complete with my outraged jumper. A trip to the Talisker distillery that evening made everything all right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.