Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Black Lives Matter

This was actually a photo of a sneaky project I've been working on but it seems my camera decided against it and the image when I came to upload it is just a black square.

Normally I'd not upload it but it feels appropriate with everything going on in the world at the moment and mass mutings on social media to allow relevant black lives matter information to get through.

I don't have words for what is going on at the moment. I have know for a long time that people of colour suffer far worse at the hands of the police than white people but I don't think I had quite been aware of the extent, even in our own country and the injustice of deaths that have occured. I have been learning a lot and I plan on doing more reading to educate myself. I've even learnt about my huge misunderstandings of riot control. I've heard of rubber bullets. I always assumed they were the size of a small bullet or paintball and that they were merely a deterrent. If you're unfamiliar with them, please Google them. They're huge and launched from what essentially amounts to a grenade launcher. They are not designed to be fired at close range but they are, they are not designed to be fired at the face but they are. I've also learnt that tear gas isn't even allowed to be used in warfare yet it can be unleashed without thought or bias, at children, medics, people helping the injured, passersby, peaceful protestors.

It is not good enough now to just not be racist, we all need to take a stand, show our friends, family, colleagues, strangers, that we are actively anti-racism, calling it out whenever we see it or hear it, getting the message across that this is not okay, to use our privilege to challenge racist opinions.

I see you and I stand with you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.