The Morning After

I'm sure many of you are aware that Bristol was in the news yesterday. There is much that can be said and I'm sure that many of you out there are slightly appalled at what happened, but I would like to say a few short words (if you want to find out more I would suggest you google Countering Colston as a starting point). I am proud of my city, I'm pleased that the statue has finally been toppled and I'm proud, that in 2020, the tradition of Bristol protest lives on in our young people. The police showed a knowledge of our history and showed restraint, there were no injuries, no arrests, no other damage and the centre of town is tidy. I'm sure we will see the statue again, but hopefully in a museum where it belongs. All the signs etc are going to be collected and saved by the council, history was made yesterday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.