Onboarding

My Dear Princess and Dear Fellows,

Today was my first day at Kainga Ora. As always there are pluses and minuses:

MINUSES
- It seems like a VERY technical role. I do hope they've hired the right person.

PLUSES
- Dougal, my new PM seems lovely. She is very informal and when she saw Jasper on our Zoom call told me she likes cats too. She also said "Hello" to Caro, although she called her "Karen".

- Dougal set very modest milestones for the week. Basically, if I managed to log in to the system successfully today, she told me she considered that "a result".

- Everyone else I met today was equally lovely! It was very weird. I met five other BA's called Cal, Gina, Livvy, Marie and Peace*. They were all a groovy, funny, friendly lot. 

- It is all really very strange. It's like this organisation only hires groovy people or something. On the downside, I am older than everyone else by at least a decade. 

- Anyway, they have already told me we are doing something social on the 26th and it should tell you something about this crowd that I did NOT shrink in horror and try to think up excuses.

- Since NZ has gone to Covid Alert Level 1 today, I asked about going back to work. But it transpires we have nowhere to go back to work TO. The lease on their current office expires at the end of the month, and they were supposed to be moving into another building in July. However, because of covid, the new office isn't available until September. "So we'll all be working from home until then," said Gina, "unless you really NEED to come in." I decided I would not have such a need.

In other news, the gardeners came round to ours today to "weed-bomb" the garden. This involved spraying toxic chemicals on our garden so we had to keep Jasper in for two hours until it dried up. Caro constructed a "playpen" outside, which would allow him onto the deck but not the grass.

Needless to say, he broke out of the playpen at least twice, causing Caro to swear a lot and and chase him around the garden. In today's picture you see him sleeping it off, and being a Good Kitty.

"He's a little (very bad word) b@stard," said Caro, not seeing the funny side. 

Don't listen to The Mean Lady Jasper, daddy still loves you.

S.

* Blipnames, not actual names. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.