Jasper Sans Frontières

My Dear Princess and Dear Fellows,

The guys don't work weekends so we are fenceless. 

Fenceless. With Jasper. 

I've been taking him out and about for walks every morning, in the hope this will satisfy his need for being outside for most of the day. 

It's a theory. 

His walks on the leash are pretty long though. I think it is for two reasons:

a) He likes it when there's someone else there with him and
b) He's currently getting to explore parts of the garden he's never seen before

Because there's no fence anywhere, he can now travel right up the side of the house (see extra) up to the front garden where he can watch traffic. Our front garden does still have a small fence up (we're not replacing that). I was hoping that would contain Jasper, but I discovered he can wriggle UNDER it the other day.

He squeezed his little fat bum under there, slipped his leash and I had to dash around to the neighbour's to scoop him up (still complaining). It turns out he'd seen the neighbour's tabby cat and wanted to give him a good growling. Little bloody troublemaker.

So today I was a lot more cautious, and when Jasper got to the edge of the garden (which now ends with a perilous crevasse) I put my finger under his collar and let him know that I'M ONTO HIM. 

But actually, he was very good. I took him out twice and he just wanted to check out the view and schnupper around, smelling all the smells.

On my return, Caro and I watched, "Carl Davis: The Soundtrack to Our Lives" because Caro loves a music doco. This one is about the guy who signed singers for Columbia music, including Springsteen, Patti Smith, Janis Joplin and Billy Joel, before leaving and having a whole new career with Whitney Houston.

It turns out that Carl Davis was really very attached to Whitney, who he treated like an adopted daughter. So the part of the documentary which dealt with her downfall was rather sad. And it made me think of putting on "The Bodyguard" again, which is one of Caro's favourite films.

So the film is now on while I make dinner.

I'm sure you all remember how huge this film was when it came out, nearly 30 years ago. Mainly because of that song.

What's that? You've forgotten? Let me remind you...

AND 

IIIIII-EE-IIIIIIIIIII 

WILLLLLL AAAAAAAAALWAAAAAYS

LOOOOOOVEYOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO-

-ooOOOoooooooOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

Has that brought it back? I hope so, because I just strained something.

S.

p.s. I've got the stuff that you want
I've got the thing that you need
I've got more than enough
To make you drop to your knees
Because I'm the queen of the night
The queen of the night
Oh yeah, oh yeah, oh yeah.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.