Small Places

By PicLocata

A new website

Something different from me. It has been raining most of the day, and rather than go out I have been working on a new website for my photo club.

I had been learning another computer language, called Go, on and off over the last year and more. At the start of the lockdown I thought it would make an interesting project to create a long needed new website for my photo club. It's been a very welcome distraction from the worries of the emergency.

Like most software projects, it was more work and took longer than I expected. Hofstadter's Law: It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's Law. But it's up and working now (mostly), and starting to be used. A few more tweaks and I will have to look for another project.

[TLDR: Computer stuff] Along the way I have learnt about Docker,  DigitalOcean droplets, jQuery and Bootstrap. I have come to like Go as much as I hoped, and I am impressed by the resources available from the Go community. Certainly it's much nicer than PHP, which after much use I detest. The client-side is still just a horrible hack, though. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.