am bioran

By AmBioran

Socially distant on Calton Hill

Today was supposed to be the annual race around the Seven Hills of Edinburgh in which Mrs AB and I have competed for the last few years. As with all summer races, it has been postponed. Nevertheless, we wanted to observe the event. 
I'm on strict orders from the physio to not run (due to over-exertion in April) so I decided to accompany Mrs AB on the bike as she trotted around the seven hills. I carried the water & fuel + a flask of coffee in the pannier. 

Of the hills, I managed to summit only Blackford, Calton and Castle on two wheels and left the steeper hills for the runner. My route past Arthur's Seat went directly through the middle of the Hunter's Bog. It felt quite wild, almost like grasslands of the African plain with a muddy watering hole in the middle as I waited for Mrs AB coming off the other side of the hill. 
We stopped for coffee from the flask on Calton where these couples were nattering in the distance. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.