14 days later

Back in the water 14 days after my accident, it was simply glorious today.
The eagle-eyed amongst you will notice I'm wearing goggles. This is the main pool, my mishap was in a smaller one just out of shot. Having had a good look with the goggles I found what I hit, I was both very unlucky and remarkably lucky - a sharp chipped edge on usually smooth limestone on a shelf less than six inches high from the river bed. Lesson learned.
I've healed remarkably well, great immediate first aid, advanced care in under an hour and three follow ups have all meant I'll barely have a scar, and I've learnt a life lesson, almost a plus.

As Missy's most favourite thing in the world is a swim I think we'll be visiting here a lot this summer. The falls behind me had enough flow to act the same as an endless pool, I was able to swim breastroke at roughly my pool pace without moving, after one hundred strokes I just put my feet down. Magical.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.