Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2020 Saturday — RJ Comes to Visit

At 7:51 this morning a text arrived from Granddaughter Ashly. The words proclaimed, “We are going to come drop off the grill cover.” Egads! I was still sitting in bed enjoying my umpteenth cup of coffee. Face wasn’t washed; make-up not on; hair not brushed. I quickly responded, “You leaving home right now?”

Her immediate response was, “Yes.” She was here in 20 minutes. I had changed from jammies to day clothes and sort of brushed my hair.

On Thursday I had sent her a text asking for help ordering a new cover for our 10-year-old Weber Summit Gas Barbecue. We have found a guy who will come give the barbecue a tune-up and change the gas jets from natural gas to propane gas. The old cover had seen its better days several years ago and was thrown out because it was “crispy” from years of covering the Webber near the pool on the sunny patio of our former house.

It makes no sense to me to pay to have the barbeque tuned-up, cleaned-up, and in fine grilling condition and not get a new cover. Mr. Fun didn’t necessarily agree. He grew-up in a home with a dad who was a perfectionist; everything had to be right. Mr. Fun just doesn’t give a hoot. I do. I didn’t have a perfectionist dad. We are extreme opposites. I like nice stuff; he could give a, well you know.

So I asked Ashly how she manages to order things on the Internet and have them arrive before she ends the phone call or online order. I had found the barbeque cover on the Weber website. It was $90 – that’s ridiculous! Ash found it for half the price (the same Weber brand cover) and it arrived on Friday. Amazing!

What I am learning is that she is an Amazon Prime member. To make a long story longer – back on May 4th I ordered an outfit (a cute pair of girls/womens overalls) from a Facebook advertiser. The order has STILL not arrived. I am just about to contact my bank to have them remove the charge for that episode.

So today Ash brought the grill cover to us. Today for the first time since Covid-19, we got to hold our sweet little RJ, our youngest great-grandchild. During this ChinaVirus, little RJ mastered the art of crawling faster than a speeding train, and now he is walking everywhere with great confidence. Because of the Virus and the “stay-at-home” season we have missed his entire journey of crawling. Thankfully we have gotten to see some of it through the use of FaceTime technology. This morning I think he was not quite sure what to think about us because he is used to seeing us on the screen of his mom’s smartphone.

We had lots of fun with him while Ash and RJ were here for about 2 ½ hours. His first birthday is June 24th. He is so much fun and watching our oldest grandchild experience her first child is nothing less than stunning.

Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol
and Chloe & Mitzi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.