Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Is Accuracy Everything?

You are all being very patient while I fool about with HDR technique. Thank you. Years ago I shot HDR all the time, had set up my own Photomatix presets and would batch process everything that I'd shot on a real estate shoot so that scenes through windows would look reasonable and all dark corners of rooms could be seen clearly. I'd usually have to tinker for a few moments with particular results but having set up a particular DSLR body to shoot nothing but HDR sets, everything sort of flowed through the established workflow and I never thought much about it.

My new E-M5/2 body has an actual HDR button on it which (back in the day) might well have saved me a lot of time and money. And so I have started to examine possibilities for using HDR processing on regular landscape blips or at least to work out whether it's a good idea or not.

Anyway, up above I have shot and processed the same scene in two ways. The conventional approach (bottom) is probably more true to the scene as I saw it but the "painterly style" HDR result has an appeal of its own I think. If you have a moment, please examine in LARGE. I'd value your thoughts. There are no "correct" responses. I honestly want to know what people think.

I am now writing the next morning and I am immensely pleased that so many of you have taken the time and trouble to comment so thoughtfully on what I have posted. I must say that you have helped me enormously by what you have said. I will not reply directly to any of your comments on this blip lest I influence someone who is yet to say something. With the next blip (this evening) I will try to summarise what you have collectively suggested and publish my own feelings on the matter. Many many thanks, yet again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.