Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

Water droplets

As threatened, here is my first attempt at photographing water droplets on a CD. Rather disappointing, and I need to try harder to get anywhere near the standard John Gravett demonstrated on his Youtube video!

Although I've felt better today than yesterday, it was still quite a struggle getting everything set up after 10:00pm. I shot this on the landing at this time so that it was dark, and as I wanted to try the shot with and without a polarising filter, I couldn't use the usual 50mm macro (mounting filters on that lens is very risky, as they can jam the focussing!), and instead used an old Sigma 90 Pentax K-mount lens with an adapter, hence the lack of reliable data. That lens suffers focus creep when left pointing downwards on a tripod, so it was not very satisfactory. I'll have to look at some other options before I try again - the Olympus with the 60mm macro would probably be a better choice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.