CV measures #89

Another rareity
Well, late in the day I went to Southwater Country Park to see if there were many Damselflies in the long grasses, but when I arrived I was disappointed to find most of the long grasses were brown and frazzled by the lack of rain. and damselflies were very thin on the ground! 
I was just about to leave when I noticed this fly sitting on a grass stalk, at first i thought it was the Tachinid fly Phasia hemiptera, a rather attractive species I see quite frequently, but on closer inspection of my photograph) I realised it was actually Ectophasia crassipennis, another Tachinid fly. but this time a really new migrant to the UK (I think this might be the 5th or 6th UK record) Needless to say I was delighted with my find, I love finding unusual things!

Grateful today for my eyesight, and my ability to spot unusual things!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.