Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

The second page of last Wednesdays mixed media challenge was a steampunk inspired one. I've worked on this the whole day. Only partially cutting out the bricks took forever... not to mention cutting the cogs after using a stencil and water solvent ink on cardboard. First I made the bricks and teared some of them off, then I glued pieces of book and note paper on the part of the page not being covered with 'bricks'. Then acrylic paint on the glued paper, acrylic colours on the 'bricks', a stencil with pipings on the acrylic paint, using texture paste. While that dried I continued with 'bricks' and cogs. Cogs got more black colour and then some wax to make them more shiny and 'metallic looking'. Then I used turquoise spray to remove the boring brown colour, glued the 'brick' sections and then the cogs down. Cogs took some time to place right. I also used paper cogs given to me from a friend, made with one of those wonderful cutting tools. Finally I used stencils for the words. I'm pleased with the outcome. 
All I have to do now is take a photo of it in daylight and post it in the mixed media group. Then on to the next. An ocean theme, with a face too... so, I'm thinking mermaid? :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.