JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

Advertising with us

The billboard pleads 'advertise with us', and a local business may well go for it. The space is though on the opposite side of the street at a dual carriageway, and the pedestrians passing must amount to no more than a couple of dozen daily.

I'm an advertising geek - it is my job to teach it, to be an advocate for it, but also to be one of it's best friends. I can't be a best friend in the way the world's best agency CEOs or creative geniuses can, or any number of the greats working in the ad industry can. But I am there when advertising needs me, when it needs me to stand it's corner, fight it's battles and pick it up when it's down. But I also tell this friend when it's not doing well. Not quite bring it's harshest critic, but just being honest.

It's almost sad to see a billboard needing an advertiser. Like Billy Crystal's radio ad-sales character says in 'City Slickers', 'when it comes down to it, I sell air' as without him, there's no ad revenue, no income, no nothing. So the photo is just of a bit of paper in search of a client's words and pictures, that's all it is. Advertising space. While the space may not achieve the objective, I'm rooting for it. That's what friends are for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.