Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

A Warm Glow

After months of yearning to get across the Mersey and into Liverpool city centre once again, today was the day I finally did it! 

I caught the ferry across and was pleased that there were only about 10 other passengers, and that I had a whole deck to myself! 

I was met on the other side by my friend Jill and her dog Millie (you may remember them from a couple of weeks ago www.blipfoto.com/entry/2716738701202819268 ) and we spent a very pleasant couple of hours wandering around. When I arrived, just after 10am, there were fewer people around than I’d anticipated but by the time I left at noon there were a lot more people out and about. I didn’t dare stay any longer as access to public loos is still rather limited and my bladder isn’t as strong as it once was... 

Still, it was a significant step in my tentative emergence from lockdown! In celebration of which fact I popped into Bold Street Coffee for a takeaway beverage, and took the opportunity to snap this portrait of their friendly barista. He seemed to be radiating positivity, which is just what the doctor ordered.

Today’s music choice is ‘Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots, Pt 1’ by Flaming Lips, which I’ve been singing to myself for the past 2 weeks and which I just can’t shift from my brain. So I thought I’d share it with you all! I think I may be seeing the titular robots as a metaphor for COVID-19... so this has become my daily anthem! www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tfv8VTQzVGg 

“Those evil-natured robots
They're programmed to destroy us
She's gotta be strong to fight them
So she's taking lots of vitamins
'Cause she knows that it'd be tragic
If those evil robots win
I know she can beat them...” 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.