Schloss Wickrath, GERMANY

Second day trip this week.  Took advantage of AW's being away.  Ate very late as I was so focused on clearing up, and then, after that, I couldn't sleep till about 07.00, but before going to bed I had a very early breakfast.  Got up again at around 11.00 and left an hour later.  In short, the internal clock was totally out of sync this morning.  I hope I crash into bed earlier tonight.  I think it's the combination of the heat and AW's absence.

Where did I go today?  Back across the border, this time to Wickrath, for a total of 323 km. and hardly any change in the travel time.  Didn't even bother to fill up the tank as I knew it was going to be enough.  Again, didn't bring anything to eat or drink, so passed by a KFC and bought a bottle of cold apple juice on the way back, shortly after crossing back into the country.  The schloss was shut and there was hardly anyone except for some children and their mum cooling off in the fountain, but I didn't mind at all.  There were many horses in the rather large stables.  Entry was forbidden, and I could understand that.  In contrast, the parking area was practically empty -- about 4 cars, maybe 5, including mine.  People are really being careful, and I for one appreciate that a lot.  Some extras ...

Got back home long before AW returned.  I don't think there'll be much of a dinner tonight as it is just so hot.  Maybe later again ... what a mixed-up schedule!  And to think I'd already peeled the potatoes before I left (and cleaned the kitchen, and watered the plants, etc.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.