My happy little life

By khoola

Perspective

I've spent the last week or so being a bit fed up about "stuff", and getting quite cross and upset about a lot of things.

Today I received an email which reminded me that I actually have a ridiculous amount to be thankful for, and should spend less time feeling sorry for myself and more time considering how lucky I actually am. Don't get me wrong, I've always been a believer that the knowledge that there are starving children in Africa doesn't make you feel any less hungry, and that there are, and will always be, people more and less fortunate than myself. But sometimes a little bit of perspective doesn't do any harm. So today I will cuddle my two perfectly healthy and happy children that little bit tighter, and keep in mind that all the other "stuff" doesn't really matter all that much.

Don't worry, I'm sure that by 6pm tomorrow I'll be counting down the minutes to bedtime as usual, but for today I think I'll be grateful that the biggest hardship I have is that they're bickering over the TV and don't eat their tea quickly enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.