like a frightened rabbit strapped to a board and

thrown down a hill

yes, it was snowboarding day. With very little amounts of surprise I wish to announce to the world that, even after this delightful pair showed me how to fall over with a fecking big board stuck to my feet, I am still totally incompetent in the skidding around on snow department. I have now failed at ice-skating, skiing and snowboarding. I was not born to deal with snow, I am so good at lying on a beach, why should I learn other things?

Flea is a bit disappointed so I have promised another go. But it will have to wait til next time we come as one of the falls buggered my knee in a nasty cracking, leg on the wrong way round kind of way and there is no way I am doing anything apart from resting it until I am sure that my leg won't fall off.

One of the reasons I am better at lying still than sliding down hills is because I have a bad vestibular sense. If you don't know what that means, this wee boy has a great explanation of this and the other senses you meet the world with. He has also given me some ideas of how I can improve this sense so that, maybe, should I still have two legs by then, I can have another go at the frightened rabbit/board/mountain thing next year. Until then I am sticking to bandages and beer.

oops, nearly forgot to mention that we shared the cabin back down (weather was suddenly awful and everyone fled at once) with a big boy dressed as a big pink rabbit. He complained that the sudden snowfall had ruined his fluffiness....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.