awelsh

By awelsh

I got a very timely reminder today about how much you can miss if you don't look up. I went down to the river at low tide this time to see if I could see the elusive tree sleeping seal. He didnt make an appearance so I had a seat anyway and passed some time reading a book and on my phone. A piece of bark fell onto the path so I looked up and heard a woodpecker, not as loud as others Ive heard but still a woodpecker. I did see a bird in the tree just above me but couldnt see properly because of the way the light was it all looked very black. I took a few and hoped for the best and was very chuffed to spot the back of the woodpecker at least in the photo! 
However that was not the end of my looking up. I was on my phone and just happened to look up to see if the seal was about when I saw a flash of electric blue skimming inches above the water. Have to say I nearly cried when I realised it was a kingfisher. I've not seen one of those for many a year. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.