Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

Fishing

I was up and out of the house at dawn, hoping to see the Piping Plovers one last time before they leave and start heading south.  I have learned that the female had already left and it was the male watching over four chicks yesterday when I was there. However, no sign of any of them today, so the little ones  have fledged and are likely on their way to the Toronto area for a period (they join up with the mother there). Farewell, and I hope they successfully make the journey and return next year.

Not to worry though, as the birds were active around the lake and bay. I suppose they were beating the heat the same as I was.  This Osprey had to be the blip as I managed to catch it flying over searching the water for fish. 

I think I will take the rest of the day off to rest my eyes.  Although, I always wear sunglasses when out, they are feeling the strain and I think it doesn't help that my eyes have been stinging from the perspiration getting into them over these last few weeks. That really hurts... At 5:30 this morning, it was already 26 C, feeling like 35 C with the humidex. They expect it to reach the 40's again today.  I feel for those who have no air conditioning at home....

Stay well....have a great Friday!!

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.