Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Blind Frustration

If you've ever tried to clean those thin aluminum blinds by hand, you know it's very difficult to get them really clean, so every year or so I take them to a place that does ultrasonic cleaning. After all the remodeling we've had done, our blinds are really dusty, so today I took them down for a trip to the cleaners.

Removing the blinds is one of those jobs that sounds easy in theory, but is anything but. Without going into details, I'll just say that I use words not normally heard around our house, and work up quite a sweat.

After I'd calmed myself, I loaded them into the Forester and drove to Shade Maid, or as it turned out, the location where the business used to be. After leaving a message on their phone number I discovered that the owners are now running the business out of their home, and making house calls. I hope we can get together tomorrow.

Another current source of frustration is the need to replace our eleven-year-old dishwasher. I went to an appliance store after the abortive blind-cleaning attempt, and checked prices and availability of a few models we'd looked at online. No decision has been made yet -- further research is needed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.