jennym999

By jennym999

Bite size carrots!

First picking of carrots.

Do they taste good? Yes very nice raw.

Was it worth the effort? More than two months of watering. Not really!

This year I decided to grow a few vegetables at home as well as at the allotment, during lockdown. These are “Paris Market 5-Atlas” variety, some free seeds I had as they came with the Kitchen Garden magazine. I grew them in a container on my balcony , one usually used for flowers.
The description says they are suitable for shallow stony soils and should produce bite sized carrots...they are certainly only bite size, the bigger ones are a bit tough. As there are 750 seeds in the packet maybe I will sow a few more in a shallower container. Our allotment is too dry, have never had success there with carrots.

- went to collect grandchildren for the first time and drove them to our house
- a friend came over with her poodle so we went to the local playground with twins on their bikes
- went to a garden centre for the first time since March. Wore my mask but many others did not, Very little stock compared to usual. Bought some trailing geraniums as my petunias on the balcony are not looking good any more....mildew?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.