Nostalgia²

My Dear Princess and Dear Fellows,

I was chatting on WhatsApp with Fat Pete this morning in the early hours when Punky reminded me that it was time to go out.

It was 6.30am. Still dark. 

So NO, Punky Cat. You know the rule.

Today I went to feed Lulu Cat again, and saw Caro off at the railway station. She's off for a long weekend in the Bay of Plenty for her mum's birthday. 

As for me, my day was blighted by a migraine that I thought I could ignore but it kept getting worse and worse. It's lifting now, but my brain feels bruised, if you know what I mean.

Consequently, I'm feeling like low-energy telly tonight. Something distracting enough to take my brain off my brain, but nothing too exciting.

I have found this. It is one of a series of tv shows about nostalgia for the 80's that aired in the late 90's. The narrator has already mentioned the millennium as something that is about to happen. 

Yeesh.

I actually remember watching these shows when they were on. Me and Caro had just got together and we used to be very decadent and order pizza and watch this show in bed on a Friday night after "Friends" and before So Graham Norton*.

And I remember Fat Pete would call to see if we were up for going out to the pub. And the first thing he would always say when I answered the phone (which was above the bed) was, "Are you shaggin'?"**

You thought I'd FORGOTTEN that, didn't you?!? Bloody hell.

So watching this show I loved in the 90's about bands I loved in the 80's was definitely nostalgia squared. 

Still, the music has been great. I love the New Romantic era. I love how seriously they all took it, and how miserable everyone was. And how seriously they took their misery. All those videos featuring people in white make-up talking about nuclear war and post-war Germany.

We are now at number four on the chart and have just got to Culture Club. The Human League were only at number five which I find hard to believe, but what do I know. Joanne and Suzanne told the story of how Suzanne's mum came to their school one afternoon to pull them out of class because "Our Suzanne and our Joanne are going to be on Top of the Pops".

Which has to be the best reason to get out of fifth form geometry ever.

Okay we are on to number three now, Spandau Ballet. Really? Channel 4 programme from 20 years ago? Really?

I'm also very upset that no-one has mentioned Only You or Drowning in Berlin or even Einstein-A-Go-Go.

I'm sure it's all a big fix***. 

S.

* I still love Graham Norton, but I miss "So Graham Norton". With Betty's tongue and Doggyphone.

** For the record, we never were. I'm very quick.

*** Having said that, this programme has inspired me to follow Muriel Gray on Twitter, so it's not all bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.