Take Away

Began the second MOOC in the afternoon because I woke up rather late, but that is okay.

AW was back around 17.00.  We had agreed that he would tell me if he had to stop either way because of his back, how often, and how far apart between stops.  We both need to know this because the information will help us when/if we drive to Hamburg hopefully later this summer.  The opera house will open in September, it seems, and the first performance will be on the 5th, with a modest concert.  AW has heard that the acoustics of the Hamburg opera house are the best in the world and he would like to hear that for himself.  I hope he gets his wish because he is actually 65% deaf, so it will be a good opportunity to test his hearing in a really good auditorium, and without his hearing aids.

This was shot on my walk to the centre (I parked just outside it) to pick up some Chinese food from our favourite wok place.  Eating is no longer allowed inside, so only take-aways (does save them having to do the dishes) and the 1.5-meter social distancing rule should be strictly followed.

Just before that, though, I thought of phoning an old colleague of mine from the police academy days as I hadn't heard from her for years, nor she from me, and I wondered if she was all right.  She was visiting someone at the moment and will phone me back another time.  Something to look forward to but without expectations.

To finish off the rather grey and heavy day, AW and I had an hour-long serious talk before we fell asleep, about Eindhoven.  We sorted out what that was.  I told him that it's not his going there that I'm wondering about, but, rather, what I myself should make of it, as I am responsible for my own state of being and want to make sure for myself that I'm looking at it properly, regardless of what it is.  Our conversation clarified a lot of things.  It's not the same as when I take a day trip or spend an overnight somewhere else myself -- like he plays football and I play tennis.  There aren't any obligations on anyone, and that, for me, was the most important bit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.