Comet Neowise

I stayed up late last night as the forecast suggested that this would be my best opportunity to photograph Comet Neowise.  It took a couple of goes to find the right location - my first field choice was slightly too eastward looking, although I was able to get some good shots of the Saturn/Jupiter conjunction as seen in the extra. 

The second field was looking in the right direction and I'm glad I'd researched whereabouts to look in the sky as the comet was barely visible to the naked eye.  This could have been due to light pollution or low cloud, but the only sign I could see was the very faintest streaking in some light cloud. Thankfully, the camera didn't have the same difficulty in picking it out. 

I stood there for far longer than I thought - this is the last shot I took as I wanted the clouds to move enough to show Ursa Major as well as the comet. A 5 minute walk had me back home and dismantling my kit. 

It was so nice to use some of my equipment and do some 'proper' photography. I was impressed with the little infrared shutter release which I haven't had a chance to use before; it works far better than the stupid three pin cable that Canon has inflicted on its full frames. It's hard to align and keep in place in daylight, let alone at night. I don't know why it couldn't have used the same slimmed down 'headphone jack' style as the crop sensors which is far more reliable. Grr. 

Early bed tonight, methinks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.