Igor

By Igor

brief encounter

I see this little dog and its owner most mornings, but we're usually going in opposite directions and on opposite sides of the road.  This time we're on the same path.

Back in January, when we first moved to the town, I would often see her, bent over against the cold wind - and sometimes, rain - the dog on an extended lead, towing her up the road.  This time it's her that's in the lead.

The dog turns and waits for me and we have a wee chat and then the owner, realising - as all dog owners do - that the dog should have caught up by now, also turns and waits.  

She recognises me and steps back to let me pass.  We exchange the briefest of pleasantries and I continue on my way.  As I open the gate that leads out of the common, I look back.  She's still waiting, the dog still sniffing.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.