ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Please Mr Postman

....can you tell me what was in this envelope?
There was an article in the local paper this week about a lot of people receiving opened envelopes in the post, invariably with the contents missing. I was therefore surprised - but not shocked - when this turned up today. Going by the size of the envelope and date on the postmark, this was probably a birthday card someone had sent me.
The article did mention that missing cards was a common theme, more often than not ones which had contained money or vouchers. What was most shocking was that some of the cards that had gone missing were sympathy cards following the death of a loved one.
I realise that the whole “postie knicked my postal order” thing has been around for many years but is thankfully quite rare - this is the first time I’ve come across it in sixty years! One can only hope that Royal Mail will have tightened procedures at the local sorting office now, to try and prevent future occurrences.
I said before that I was surprised, but not shocked. Not shocked because I knew what had been happening, but surprised because I thought I’d had a card off everyone. Knowing where the card was posted, and going by the style of address, I would have said it was a dead cert it was from one of my elderly relatives back in Chester. But there are very few of them left and I definitely remember getting cards from them all (some containing cheques / gift cards) so am somewhat puzzled as to who sent this?
Annoyingly, the handwriting does look familiar. I shall have to ask mother if she recognises it next time I see her. Or wait until Christmas and see if something similarly addressed turns up!
In the meantime, if you are that relative, wondering why the ungrateful little sod hasn’t thanked you for your card and present - I apologise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.