Through Jo's Lens

By Jo8lens

Helvellyn

Had a trek up to the Lakes with my friend, Julie. We've been saying for months if not years that we would walk to the peak of Helvellyn and today was the day we did it! We set out from Thirlmere which is a shorter but more gradient route. It took us a good couple of hours just to reach the summit. We were encouraged by fellow hikers who were passing us on their descent. The views from the top were beautiful. Like being on the top of the world! Our idea was to conquer Striding Edge too but I'm not a great fan of heights and I didn't realise that it's quite a steep trek to get onto Striding Edge and my fear got the better if me. I might attempt it from another angle in the future. Julie wasn't really up for it either as she'd found it tough to reach the peak of Helvellyn so we came down the same route as we'd gone up. It was tough on the legs going down too. Got the leg wobbles. We'd done no preparation at all so at least we did it. Extras show views from today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.