EVE - GRIZZ AND HAMISH

Hello all,

A quiet morning, just phoning Mum as per usual, then at 11.00 am I had a zoom meeting with The Guide Dogs for the Blind.

This meeting would have been an actual event taking place in Carnforth with tea and light lunch.  It is something that they do annually to thank, and inform, those that support them.  The information tells you how the dogs, and their prospective new homes are trained and chosen and is very well worth listening too, as there is such a lot that you don't realises they have to navigate their ways around.

We are also given a short talk by a Guide Dog Recipient and we get to meet very briefly via zoom, the Guide Dog itself, in this case - Eton.

Ooh about 5 years ago when I first decided I wasn't going to wait until I was 66 before I retired and as we were moving up here it seemed a golden opportunity to do so.  It's been hard but never have I regretted that decision.

My first ever pension that I received when I reached the great age of 60 was so small that you couldn't do a lot with it.  I happened to be on a weekend in Windsor as I received the first payment and there I met a lovely man on a stand in Windsor Town Centre who was asking people to "sponsor a puppy".  Well the amount they were quoting happened to coincide with that first pension payment so I decided it would be good to do something constructive with it, otherwise it would just get spent on nothing in particular.

So since that day I have sponsored a Guide Dog for the Blind.  Eve is my third dog.  We get regular pupdates (both via e-mail and in the post) a yearly calendar and regular photos that you can add into your own little album.  This simply shows you how the puppy is progressing with their training.

Of course they get an occasional one who, for various reasons, are not able to become Guide Dogs, but most do.

I will be getting a new Puppy to support soon as Eve has almost completed her training.

They have, of course, faced many difficulties under the current climate, as have most charities.  But there are some things, which I confess I didn't think about, such as Social Distancing.  Impossible when you are blind and the wonderful Guide Dogs do not understand about Covid.  Some people have even been attacked, verbally and/or physically for not social distancing!!!!

Anyway I just thought I would share this with you all and as you can see my Best Bear Grizz and his wee dog Hamish are interested in Eve.

Do take care, and do remember that you come across a person who is blind, either with a cane or dog, they cannot social distance, so just make them aware that you are there and then you do the social distancing, let them know that you are stepping out of their way.  Simple isn't it!!!

See you all tomorrow, thank you all for continuing to drop by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.