SweetArt

By SweetArt

CNY Markets - Gold medallions

My friends and I made it out to the Chinese New Year Markets at Victoria Park today to take in the latest 'fads' for the Year of the Snake, produced by the University students and also buy some traditional Chinese flowers.

The Chinese usually decorate their homes with lilies, gladiolas, narcissus, chrysanthemums, orchids and peach blossoms, along with those orange plants blipped earlier. They also hang lai see packets off the peach blossoms, which I've photographed, but haven't blipped.

The picture here is of golden medallions that are decorations but in the olden days were given as gifts, and I think they still are actually. They have them in various sizes, these are plastic. But they caught my eye cause they looked SO good displayed like that, and lets face it, I did grow up in the Middle East and am attracted to shiny things, LOL!!! I did actually buy one, as the poor chap said everyone was stopping to take pics but no-one was buying any ... so I did! It was buy one get one free!!! How could I resist??? Less than GBP 2, they were.

Going camping tomorrow ... still have to get the lai see packets ready. GK and Jellyfox have claimed theirs and rightly so.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.