HerLifeStory

By HerLifeStory

In which this is a 10/10

My school was rebuilt a couple of years ago. It has fewer than 50% of the parking spaces required for the staff to promote public transport and/or car shares. This doesn't work.

Teachers cannot take a set of exercise books home on the bus: they are huge, unwieldy and heavy. Also the idea of leaving a class set of assessments on a train fills us with horror. Car sharing might work but few of us work similar hours: some come in at 7 and leave at 3, others start later but are still at work at 7 at night. Many of us leave to do the school run and then come back after 4.

To manage the problems there are strict criteria on eligibility for a parking space and all spaces are numbered. On Fridays when I come back with my son at 4 in order to sort the following week we have a tradition of me parking in a way that rebels and he marks me for parking creativity.

Today I got 10/10.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.