Sunday's walk

5 miles this AM , 1.5miles longer than usual . Brought the  butterfly lens and mostly saw.... birds. So I e birded during the walk ( 20 species) . But by the time I was heading back down the sun had come out and there were a few butterflies making the rounds of the wild flowers. The former butterfly field( cut down and mowed by its new owner) had 2 lone monarchs and a swallowtail. The rather moth-eaten silver skipper was along the road further down.
Further than that and still about a half mile from home I found a rather confused  or stunned catbird sitting in the middle of the road. When it didn't fly I picked it up and it just blinked and din't move. It felt really hot and since several cars had just passed me I thought it might have hit one of them. I took it home and it didn't look very good , I really thought it was going to die before we got there. It moved once , which did give me some hope. I put it in a box with some water and about an hour later , looking much brighter , it hopped up on the chair arm and flew off quite handily. I think it was stunned. It may have been buffeted about by the cars and overheated sitting on the asphalt. 
The extra is thistle having a bad hair day. Looks like mine, only whiter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.