things, bits & bobs...

By Nicpic

Lammergeier...

It's not often, in fact never, that I can say that 'lammergeier' is my blip title. This juv female has been around the Peak District for a few weeks now. It's attracted a lot of attention around the Strines area with some excellent views had by many people (not me). I tried once to wait for a while there to see it but as it was just so busy, I didn't stay long. 

Read about them on the link below. They are pretty scarce birds.
https://www.beardedvulture.ch/beardedvulture/biology

Last night there were reports of it roosting to the south side of Holme Moss/Woodhead area. Off I went around 6am and when I got there, there were 3 others who thought that they had spotted a 'bearded vulture shape rock' away in the distance. Eventually this rock moved and it was indeed the bearded vulture/lammergeier. I had to leave before it flew (I'd been there about 2 hours and watched it have a mammoth preen). I would have liked to see it fly as it is a HUGE bird. Never mind, I still saw it :)

It's about half way up the vertical stripe of rock in this pic and there's a zoomed in photo in the extra. There was also a pretty moody sky to watch as we were waiting.

Edit: I went back this afternoon and had fabulous views of it flying in my bins. It was being mobbed by 4 buzzards who looked like small dots in comparison.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.