airedaleknitter

By airedaleknitter

Doldrums

Twice today I’ve come across the word Doldrums, once in a textile newsletter I get now and then, and the other in a sample kindle book I was considering buying.bother were unconnected, but sum up how I have felt today.
After yesterday’s warmth  and sunshine we have had grey, cold and dreary all day. I realised it is a year today since I’ve seen my friends (see my blip from today 2019) - all planned meetings had to be cancelled for Covid and we still don’t know when we will be able to meet. I was meeting another local friend this evening but with our new restrictions obviously that had to be scrapped.

Speaking to mum and dad on FaceTime  tonight they’ve both had their hair cut. Now mum is no longer shielding the mobile hairdresser could go to them  again. The new localised lock down means I can’t even go in their garden, never mind cut their hair!

The blip is of a plant we bought 8 years ago today - the day we lost our beloved Thomas, our first Airedale. It flowers beautifully every year and reminds me of the sunshine he brought to our lives. 

Hopefully tomorrow there will be more sunshine and I will feel more like my usual sunny self!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.