Cigs

By Cigs

Just Sooth Of Helmsdale

Now that I've recovered from the shock....

Sunday afternoon. Heading north on the A9. I'm going to Gills Bay to catch the last ferry of the day to St Margaret's Hope. There's me at the wheel, She is riding shotgun and the Ciglettes are in the back. We've got about 58 more miles to drive and about 3 or more hours to do it in. There's no great rush. The A9 to Inversnecky has been 'steady'. But once free of the Tore roundabout we've enjoyed good driving in the main. The fields of corn are on the cusp of changing from green to a more ripe hue; the sun alternates between finding the gaps in the clouds to not, the radio mimics this with sporadic bursts of pop followed by silences in the black spots.

For light relief, I impart anecdotes and pointless information as we go. The layby where Tom had a nappy change,  the harbour we stopped at to let Alex out to throw stones into etc.

I'm in the middle of a story about someone She dealt with in a professional capacity. He lives in Oxgangs but makes his living running a shop in Helmsdale. He gave his address for correspondence as a house in Portgower. So as we swept through Portgower at the end of a small convoy of 7 headed up by a camper van, I pointed out the house.  We then marvelled at the ridiculousness of someone commuting from Edinburgh to Helmsdsle. I'm just checking the mileage and noting how long its get there to further milk the lols when a voice from behind cuts through...

"Is that a Cigs on that house?' says Tom.

'WHOA WAIT HAUD THE BUS WHIT???'

'I think I saw a Cigs ...'

Frantically I search for a place to turn around. I end up looping around at the start of Helmsdale and back we go.

We pull up to the ruined farm. The width of the land between the A9 and the railway line. Tom jumps out and runs to the front of the house.  Turns around and looks at me as I'm fumbling for my camera. A double thumbs up. 

Across the fence and into the garden and sure enough.....theres an NSA 18 in red to add authenticity to the find.

Suddenly the possibility of missing the ferry looms large. If I begin to investigate this, we could be here all day....

I take a few shots and then in a daze rejoin the A9 north.....

Has Cigs done the NC500? Can we crowdfund an in depth investigation? Will my hunch of a Cigs in Tongue come true? Will Durness prove to be the most northerly Cigs?

Reader, we made the ferry. I've lain in a darkened room for 3 days to digest this latest development. Stunned isn't even close. I have now met with my sponsor and we have settled on a plan of action to draw Cigs out. 

Meanwhile the beach aside Barrier 3 beckons. As do some paddle boards. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.