am bioran

By AmBioran

Beinn an Aodainn sunrise

A slight lightening on the flysheet after 5am, I was up and on my way by 6am. Weaving a way through crags of schist I descended steeply all the way to the River Carnoch, the second river crossing. Then joined another decent stalker's path which took me up to the pass of the Mam Unndalain with minimal effort. Back onto the open hillside and up to Sgurr a'Choire-bheithe, the 3rd Corbett of the weekend - but only just at 913m. From here, the NW ridge descends in a long sweep to sea-level at Barrisdale, my next destination. Here I rejoined 'civilisation' with real tracks and people present. Campers lounged in the morning sun outside the bothy (closed). 

I followed the track north along the shore of Barrisdale Bay before turning east to follow Loch Hourn to its head inland. That was a struggle, I had never been along that path before but will give it more respect next time. Not to be underestimated. And then a sting-in-the-tail of a 2km roadwalk up to 130m and the car. Still worth the effort though. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.