SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Towtop Kirk

It took me a while to get going again today. I’d made the mistake of blinking and one of my courgettes had turned into a small marrow. So it was a case of 101 ways to kill a courgette... starting with courgette cake. I was literally stopped in my tracks for a while with tears of laughter listening to ‘I’m sorry, I haven’t a clue’.

Although I felt like going somewhere the thought of the volume of visitors put me off venturing out far so I got on my bike and headed over to Helton and then up the fellside in search of Towtop Kirk which has often caught my eye on the map - an early Christian enclosure. The first extra shows some of the stones. It’s in a very evocative space with long views towards the Pennines and set above Cawdale Beck crossed by a lovely old clapper bridge (second extra). I couldn’t help but feel the cotton grass blowing in the wind were like prayer flags. It was a bit of a long climb up but it was a case of weeeeeeeee all the way back down again. https://historicengland.org.uk/listing/the-list/list-entry/1011591
Home to stuffed courgette, a bit of courgette fritter and considering courgette soda bread ... and looking at aerial views of the site which show the site structure more clearly than on the ground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.