South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Ugly mugs!

I can't bring myself to get rid of these horrid Toby jugs - they were given to us by a homeless man some years ago as a thank you for food. He told us he got them from a charity shop - they even wrapped them for him!

When we were newly married and still in our 20's we took in a homeless lady who was sleeping rough in the corridor in our block of flats. She proved to be mentally unstable and unco-operative and, after an initial bath she refused to wash and would smoke in the flat at night. It was really awful and we had to get our minister, who had experience with mental health problems, to persuade her to leave. I still feel sad when I think of her, because she had come from abroad some years before and had no family over here. I can't imagine anything much worse than not having a place to call home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.