Dee47

By Dee49

Friends

I have a particular friend, who I really look on, as special.

Why you maybe ask?

I met this person at the local Mother & Toddlers group with our now eldest children. Both of us hadn't long moved into the village. Among the clique-iness (not sure if that's a real word but it is now :) that can happen when you live in a small village and don't 'belong' there and that can be near impossible to infiltrate........... us two 'outsiders' just clicked instantly.
(phew, there wasn't some 'I can't make friends anymore for some reason' neurotic reason for my previous struggling then)

Our kids were all the same ages, and this was the most down-to-earth genuine person I'd met so far. No wonder I liked her :)

But over the last few years, she has helped me in more ways than I feel I can ever properly thank her for. And I feel guilty at times because I feel she gives so much and I don't give as much back in return. (she would call me a neurotic over-worrier here!)

We have sat making Easter Bonnets with much giggling over a near useless glue gun at 12am and panicking over why we always leave things to the last minute.
We have giggled over many coffee's and a fair few drinks.
Any time I pop in. I almost always end up staying for dinner. And this extends to my girls too. And more often than not I end up leaving at least two of my three children there for a while, or for a sleepover.

I mean, this girl has ran to the local shop in her jammies for me late at night because I couldn't go myself, and more than once.

Her parents house is also an open house where I love to go and always feel welcome. My kids call her mum n dad, nana and papa. (wouldn't tell my mother that though lol)

She has also been there through the really rough times, and has helped me move house 3 times in the past 2 1/2 years. (long story)
She has been a shoulder that I've cried on numerous times and I know that if she could do something to help me out, she would do it if she could.

She works extremely hard and has lots to do, that I don't know how she does it. I really admire that about her.

I've already had dinner at her house this week and when we bumped into each other just last night again while dropping some of the kids off at the local Sports Centre, I chummed her back to hers for a coffee (unfortunately I'd already had my dinner :) but hers looked fab!!) and came home with one less child, a pair of boots, 3 t-shirts, a pair of trainers and a jacket that her daughter had outgrown, for Neve.

So, although a tiny gesture compared to what she does for me............ I'm dedicating this blip to her. Her name is Lady V :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.