Northern Trust Building

A hot and occasionally cloudy day, but I wanted to walk, so thought I'd go downtown to the Lakefront and take some pictures where I could get the breeze off the water. Nothing appealed to me so I ended up aimlessly wandering around, & finally ended up on Wisconsin Ave. by one of my most favorite buildings. I'd thought to photograph the whole building, as it's so incredibly ornate, but there were too many cars, buses and people--all of which, for the most part, I hate in my photos--so I just took a little portion of it. I'll have to go much earlier next time! This is the Northern Trust Building, built between 1904 & 1906. It's built in a style that "combines Greek & Roman models with Renaissance characteristics". It comes complete with multiple two-story fluted columns with carved stone grotesques at the tops, but my favorite part of this building is the bronze grill work which is not only at the main entrance but also covers the windows as well--all with very intricate designs. The building is wonderfully cared for, both inside and out, and houses the Northern Trust company, which is a private bank for high net worth individuals, families, etc. To open an account there, one needs a minimum of $25,000 and at least $5,000,000 in investible assets.....this is NOT where I bank. :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.