Thistle Down

By Ethel

Spider Web

I studied long...the spider-web,
Of silken, even strands.
In knot-less tie suspended,
As if by clever hands.

Secret ways...unknown to me,
I tried in vain to seek.
A net-work fashioned there,
Built with some rare technique.

Glistening threads...so touchless spun,
From corner up to bough.
Countless crossings upward spun,
I paused...and marveled how.

So gently then...I took the broom,
Against my utmost will.
And brushed it down...onto the ground,
From out my window-sill.

Tomorrow came...I happened by,
And plainly to my sight.
A filmy web...as of before,
Had strung up through the night.

I scanned each crevice...corner...crack,
Where this bright-one might lurk.
But turned away...content to say,
T'was an architect at work.

E.P. 1908 - 1989

Photo taken at IPPUDO Ramen Noodle Restaurant, New York

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.