Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Round Year

How kind of family and friends to send me birthday cards with a special reminder of my age!  Perhaps they thought that I might be getting forgetful as the years inexorably march on.

It was a relatively muted celebration, in these covid times.  It actually made it more emotional to read cards this morning, before a celebratory lunch out with L and an enjoyable afternoon with our longest lasting friends, where we also celebrated their 33rd wedding anniversary.

One of my cards said that 60 was the new 40, in which case I haven't aged in the last 10 years as I received a card with something similar 10 years ago.  Looking back on the decade there have been highs and lows.  My 50's saw me go under the surgeon's knife for the first and second time, on the latter occasion to treat a cancer that threatened life.  I lost my last parent and I found myself retiring from work.  It also saw many wonderful moments and I am lucky to still be (relatively) fit and healthy.

I imagine the next 10 years will go even quicker than the last.  Bring it on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.